Driving down to City of Angels

Another back dated post on a short trip down to City of Angels – Los Angeles, the main purpose for the trip was to attend to my duty as the citizen’s duty of Malaysia by participating in the General Election on 28th of April in downtown Los Angeles. Since I was going to drive down, I decided to do spend some extra days along the way and in the iconic city itself. This was actually a frantically planned trip, as I was only notified through email on Monday the same week I’m supposed to vote. Once the date was confirmed with the general consulate office, as I was afraid that I would be mistaken on the date itself, I logged in to Tripadvisor.com for lists of interesting places, accommodation and planned out the journey through Google Maps.

With all set and ready, I started off the journey on Friday after work, and planned to reach Lost Hills, off I-5 for lodging and dinner. I planned to beat the off-work traffic on US-50, I skipped the my dinner and made the move at 5.30pm. It was a lovely evening, and the scenery is still very much vivid in my mind.

Scenery along I-5

Scenery along I-5

After 2 hours into driving since Folsom, I made a stop at Westley Rest Area. During the stop, I strolled around the rest area and took some photos.

Evening view at Westley Rest Area

Evening view at Westley Rest Area

Evening view at Westley Rest Area

Evening view at Westley Rest Area

Then, I continued my journey to Lost Hills and reached the motel at around 9.30pm to get the dinner and the much-needed rest.

The next day, after the breakfast at Denny’s, I drove towards Nethercutt Collection in Los Angeles. It has a huge collection of classic automotive and various accessories / antiques.

Nethercutt Museum

Nethercutt Museum

California P1

California P1

HIHI Plate

HIHI Plate

MY BU TE Plate

MY BU TE Plate

V16 Caddie

V16 Caddie

Swastika Car Mascot

Swastika Car Mascot

After the museum visit, I drove towards Griffith Observatory located at the south facing slope on the famous Mount Hollywood. Visitors can view the iconic Hollywood Sign, which is on the north facing slope of Mount Hollywood.

Hollywood Sign on Mount Hollywood

Hollywood Sign on Mount Hollywood

The observatory is a popular destination for visitors to Los Angeles, and due to the limited park spaces, visitors that had to park along road leading up the observatory. Due to that reason, I had the opportunity to view the observatory from far.

Griffith Observatory

Griffith Observatory

There’s even a hiking trail that leads up to the observatory from the bottom of the hill.

Hiking Trail

Hiking Trail

Astronomer Monument

Astronomer Monument

Sun Dial at Griffith Observatory

Sun Dial at Griffith Observatory (12:10 P.M.)

Entrance of Griffith Observatory

Entrance of Griffith Observatory

It was around 1.30pm when I’d finished the visit at Griffith Observatory, I headed straight to Juicy Burger, a burger joint at the intersection of Hollywood Boulevard and Ivar Avenue. It’s a cozy little place amidst the busy Hollywood Boulevard, serving various burgers and the staffs are all friendly.

After the lunch, I took a walk along the famous Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Capitol Records Building

Capitol Records Building

Hollywood Walk of Fame

Hollywood Walk of Fame

Strangely, I made a stop at Hollywood Forever.

Around Hollywood Forever

Around Hollywood Forever

After visit at Hollywood Forever, I checked into Courtyard Los Angeles at Baldwin Park, and went to Ontario Mills to check out the outlet mall. The mall is the largest one-level shopping mall in Western North America, with more than 10 entrances and a huge parking space. In total, I spent about 2 hours in the mall and made some purchase over there before leaving for Hollywood Boulevard to checkout its night view.

Ripley's Believe It or Not

Ripley’s Believe It or Not

The next day is the main day and after my breakfast, I checked out and drove to Consulate General of Malaysia located at the South Hope Street in Los Angeles Downtown. This was the main event of driving down 400+ miles southward from Folsom, to vote for then upcoming General Election of Malaysia. I met and made some new friends over the event, we are all working Malaysians in California. When the official matters were done, someone suggested we should have brunch at the famous Bottega Louie and continue the chit-chat.

Done Voting!!!

Done Voting!!!

After the brunch, we wished each other good luck and bid farewell. That’s when I then took a walk around downtown. Coincidentally, there’s a parade in downtown, with huge crowds. And I could see religious devotees almost everywhere with signs.

Downtown L.A. Architecture

Downtown L.A. Architecture

Downtown L.A.

Downtown L.A.

Sunday's Parade at Downtown L.A.

Sunday’s Parade at Downtown L.A.

Religious Banners Everywhere

Religious Signs Everywhere

On the way back to my car at Pershing’s Square, I dropped by Angel’s Knoll for its Angel’s Flight that linked South Hill Street with South Olive Street with a short train.

Angel's Flight

Iconic Spot – Angel’s Flight

Angel's Flight Train

Angel’s Flight Trains

Angel's Flight from Google Maps

Angel’s Flight from Google Maps

In Pershing Square, I changed into a more beach-friendly attire and drove westward to Santa Monica Beach to spend the late afternoon over there.

End of Route 66

End of Route 66

Sailboats at Santa Monica

Sailboats at Santa Monica

Route 66 a.k.a. Will Rogers Highway

Route 66 a.k.a. Will Rogers Highway

A famous tourist spot, Muscle Beach, you can see people working out along the beach, running, cycling, gymnastics and various body training sports.

Muscle Beach

Muscle Beach

Handstand exercise

Handstand exercise

Gymnastics

Gymnastics

Santa Monica Veterans Memorial

Santa Monica Veterans Memorial

By the time I left Santa Monica, it was around 7pm. I planned to reach Folsom in the same day, a 400+ miles drive to cover before 12am, thus I skipped my dinner in L.A. and only stopped at Kettleman City (US-41, off I-5). Too bad, it was already 1am the next day by the time I reached Folsom.

Slideshows of other photos taken during the trip:

