Microsoft® Office 2010 Beta – Outlook (Part 1)

This is the part 2 on my post on Microsoft Office 2010 Beta, which was released as public beta on 19th Nov 2009. In this series, I will walkthrough the changes in all of the products under the Professional Plus 2010 Office Suite. I chose outlook as the first product to talk about, due to the reason it’s one of the most important tool for enterprises in managing their communication to colleagues, business partners and in this version of Outlook, personal home user can make use of the new Outlook Social Connector to connects with friends and family.

To start of with it, here is a split screen when Outlook is starting. By the way, Windows 7 RC1 is my test machine on all these Office 2010 products.

image

After the loading, it will prompt you to create a new account as previous version of Outlook did when it was first launched. What I did was to connect to my Live Mail account, I entered my credentials and necessary information on the Auto Account Setup dialog box, and I was then prompted with the option to install Microsoft Outlook Connector to manage my Live Mail account.

image

Once it’s installed, you can proceed with the account setup again. You will be asked to restart Outlook after the installation.

image

When the account creation is completed, you will be lead to the Outlook 2010 Homepage.

image

Above are steps to startup and configure your Outlook for the first time. In the next post, I will list out those features and/or improvements that I see in this version of Outlook. If there is any questions, feel free to post as comments, and I will try my best in showing it to all of you.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

